Settle w hat 5x7 high-res.jpg

John came to Shreveport in January of 1977 when he was transferred to Barksdale AFB.

He’s been active in Shreveport politics since deciding to make Shreveport his home.

John practiced law for 40 years and he now monitors local politics. He regularly attends Shreveport City Council and Caddo Parish Commission meetings.

John is published weekly in The Inquisitor, bi-monthly in The Forum News, and frequently in the Shreveport Times.

He enjoys addressing civic groups on local government issues and elections.


2019 Is A Big Election Year In Louisiana

For those that are weary of elections, 2019 will not be a good year. And for those that sell political advertising, 2019 should be a great year. Practically every state and parish public official will be up for re-election,

Starting from the top, voters will decide the next governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, and treasurer. Additionally, commissioners of agriculture and insurance are elected.

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education will be on the ballot. Add to this all state senator and state representative slots.

In Caddo/Bossier the state senators are Barrow Peacock, Ryan Gatti, Greg Taver, and John Milkovich. All of these are eligible for re-election.

In Caddo/Bossier the state representatives are Jim Morris, Sam Jenkins, Barbara Norton, Cedric Glover, Alan Seabaugh, Thomas Carmody, and Larry Bagley. Morris, Norton, and Carmody are termed-out and can not seek re-election.

All of these officials will take office on Jan. 13 2020. Their terms of office end on Jan. 8 2024.

In each parish the sheriff, clerk of court, assessor and coroner terms must be elected.

The sheriff and clerk of court terms are from July1 , 2020 until June 30, 2024. The tax assessor term is from Jan. 1, 2021 until December 31, 2024.

The coroner term is from Mar. 23, 2020 until Mar. 24, 2024.

The delays in taking office for these elected officials is to allow for audits of each office before

Commencement of the succeeding term.

Lastly, all police jurors (in Caddo, Commissioners) are up for re-election. Their term of office is from Jan. 13, 2020 until Jan. 8, 2024.

Of the 12 Caddo positions, three members are termed out. They are Doug Dominick, Matthew Linn and Jim Smith.

Todd Hopkins and Patrick Harrington are interested in running for Dominick’s seat. Names mentioned for Lynn’s seat include Pete John, John Paul Young, and Sumer Cooner. Parker Ward will run for Smith’s seat.

Qualifying for all these offices is Aug. 6-8. The primary election is Oct. 12. The general election is Nov. 16.

It will a busy busy year for state politics. So those that are suffering from election fatigue will get little rest. And those that just live for elections, it’s a bonanza year.

(This article was published in The Inquisitor on Friday, February 1, 2019)


Hanson New Shreveport Chief Technology Officer