Settle w hat 5x7 high-res.jpg

John came to Shreveport in January of 1977 when he was transferred to Barksdale AFB.

He’s been active in Shreveport politics since deciding to make Shreveport his home.

John practiced law for 40 years and he now monitors local politics. He regularly attends Shreveport City Council and Caddo Parish Commission meetings.

John is published weekly in The Inquisitor, bi-monthly in The Forum News, and frequently in the Shreveport Times.

He enjoys addressing civic groups on local government issues and elections.



It’s a four part answer.

It depends on who makes passing grade of 75 on the Civil Service Police Chief exam. Then it depends on who the advisory committee recommends to mayor Adrian Perkins. Then it depends on who the mayor selects.

Lastly it depends on who the Shreveport city council confirms.

Got it?

The police chief exam was Wed. July 31.

The results are expected from back from Baton Rouge in about 30 days.

In alphabetical order, those taking the exam were:

Sgt./Dr. Michael Carter; Lt. Janice Dailey; Cpl. Jason Frazier; Provisional Chief Ben Raymond; Lt. Tedris Smith; Assist. Chief Wayne Smith; and Kevin Sgt. Kevin Strickland.

As far as years of service on the force, longevity is as follows:

W. Smith (1980); Dailey (1992); T. Smith (1993); Strickland (1995); Carter (1996); Raymond (2000); and Frazier (2005).

Dailey, Raymond, T. Smith and W. Smith applied for the chief position in 2016 when the chief Willie Shaw retired. Test scores for these four were: Raymond (95); W. Smith (88); Dailey (86); and T. Smith (75).

Dailey is the only female.

All of the candidates are white except for T. Smith and W. Smith.

Test scores are just one factor in the selection process. Then Mayor Ollie Tyler selected Alan Crump as chief despite the fact of a 77 test score.

During her losing effort in the run-off for mayor, Tyler said the her selection of Crump was a mistake. She said she believed at that time a black chief was needed.

Perkins announced a 8 person advisory committee to assist in this selection of the next chief.

The members are: Caddo Sheriff Steve Prator; Caddo District Attorney James Stewart; former Crime Stoppers director and retired police officer Jim Taliaferro; Natchitoches Sheriff Victor Jones; Shreveport city council chair Jerry Bowman, Jr.; retired SPD assistant chief E.J. Lewis; attorneys Laurie Lyons and Ron Miciotto.

Former SPD chief Alan Crump officially retired July 31, 2019. He has been on medical leave since Nov. 12 of last year. Under state civil service law, Crump could have retied on medical leave for 365 days. After that he must return to duty or retire.

The police chief, like the fire chief, does not serve at the pleasure of the mayor. He can only be removed from office "for cause’ as determined by the Shreveport Municipal Fire & Police Civil Service Board. In effect, it is a life time appointment until mandatory retirement age.

In a recent interview Perkins said his criteria for the selection committee was threefold.  He listed these as a thorough understanding and commitment to community oriented policing, innovative leadership, and the civil service test score. The committee is to send him 3 names–not ranked in order. He said that anticipated making his selection from the committee’s report. He also indicated that he would not rush to make this important decision–"we need to get this right."

The police chief appointment will be one of the most important of Perkins’ first term of office. A new chief will not have a major wand to deter crime, although critics will assume the same. And like it or not, Perkin’s success as mayor will hinge in part on the perception of his new chief when in office.